Antonym – a word opposite in meaning to another.

I have found in the past few years that changing from one style of art, to another, requires quite a substantial mental shift. Also going from a non productive state to one of focus takes a lot of work. But it does get easier the more you work on it. I have been getting back into pixel art for my game, finally taking a step in the right direction and it has been very difficult. I have doodled a few props here and there while I worked on the main game play, but nothing significant at all. Initially I could barely look at the canvas. Now after a few weeks of periodically approaching the art, I am starting to transition to the focused state quicker and am able to keep working for longer periods of time.

And there are changes in my work flow, unexpected changes. Each time a project grows I learn a better way to approach it. Perhaps this is where it has come from. I like to make good looking games, I work on tiles endlessly, until they work from every angle, transition perfectly, have no particular prominent features or highlights that degrade functional tiling.  And this is where I would leave things in the past.  But currently I am building art around scenes. I build a prefab scene that I decorate and elaborate on, always with tiling functionality in mind, but seeing it as a whole, incorporating more unique features. And then creating my tiles from that, meaning I have a nicely built scene plus functional art I can reuse and elaborate on for other structures. That is the great thing about tiles. It could take me a week(…or a month) to create one little set of tiles, but they can be cropped and changed, flipped and edited easily and quickly to form entirely new art, that can be used in entirely new ways.

About Steven

24 year old chap living is a small, New Zealand town.

Posted on September 4, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

