Sleep

I am having trouble sleeping at the moment. I have had trouble sleeping in the past and have investigated, and implemented various methods of correcting these problems.

Good sleep is hugely important for many reasons, as I am sure you know. I feel better when I am sleeping well.  Generally the main problems for me is time and motivation.  I have had a shortage of time to do what I want recently, and when I do have time I don’t have motivation. I start staying up later to get things done. Even when I do get to bed I am wired and start thinking things over, planning things, playing out scenes in my head every different way I can think of etc, which then impacts on the next day, and so on.

I don’t know how true this is for other sleeping problems, but fixing the initial cause is not going to fix the sleep issue, but ultimately you will need to sort it out to stop falling back into the bad habits.

There is one big way to help sort out sleeping issues.  Set an alarm. Getting up each day at the same time helps promote a good sleep cycle. If  you have more energy, you stay up later, sleep less, and it balances out for the next day, when you will hopefully get to bed a little earlier.

It is simple, but I am still screwing it up. Staying up too late is part of it, but I am also sleeping in too much! Even though it is now spring it has been damned cold here recently, seemingly colder than the dead of winter, which is a large deterrent in getting up on time. So that is something to work on over the next few weeks.

About Steven

24 year old chap living is a small, New Zealand town.

Posted on September 22, 2010, in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

