Uncharted territories

Progress has floundered as of late. Many reasons for this. Main one however is that I have never finished a game on my own, and have not really progress past a certain stage of game development in any of my previous projects. But I have taken a few steps to help myself along. Firstly I have deleted all the art work. From the game that is, I do have it saved externally. So I don’t have anything to distract me from what I need to be working on. Level design. While I do need to take into consideration what tile set will accompany each level, I don’t want to be messing with the art while trying to get the level down to something that puts the fun in functional.

So this is what my game currently looks like. A grid in the background to help me align tiles, and to not be white. Pink platforms. And various triggers. In the picture there is a Purple trigger. When the character touches it, play is paused, and the camera will travel up to the yellow target, stay for however long I want, and then return to the character. A simple but extremely useful system. I have a lot of the traps and moving obstacles triggered in this fashion.

I have also bought a USB guitar link cable. Waiting on its arrival, but hopefully it will be good enough to do some decent recording with. I want to make the games music very atmospheric/industrial, incorporating a lot of the environmental sounds into the actual tracks. And then also release a version of the music with guitar tracks. Who knows how it will work out but this is what I am looking to achieve.

About Steven

24 year old chap living is a small, New Zealand town.

Posted on November 7, 2010, in Game development, Interesting, Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

