New ending

It has been quite a long time since my last update. Back then I had two weeks off work, and decided in the second week to get stuck in making levels. Which was a great idea, with a bad result.  I got eight to ten levels completed layout wise, and found out that my game was not much fun.  Well, it was ok, but there was a feeling that it needed something else.

So since my last post I have rebuilt everything. To a pretty similar state honestly, I am not sure what it is going to take to really make this a good game. However, the structure is far more flexible, and I can prototype and remove ideas easily and tidily.  So that is what I am doing, trying out gameplay ideas, adding to the graphics library slowly, and mocking up levels.

I use a visual game development program called Construct, made by the chaps at http://www.scirra.com. It is free and  powerful, and the community is small, knowledgeable and friendly.  And it is free. However simple the tools are made to use, you will still need to learn a significant amount of game logic to make anything decent.  Knowing the programs interesting quirks, obscure menus and options helps a lot too. But these are things that you pick up as you play.

Hopefully I make some good progress in the next few weeks to post about.

 

As an aside, as I feared, the store I work in is now selling Power Balance bands. People are stupid and I am a terrible salesman, I try to keep my mouth shut about what rubbish Power Balance is, but I am honest and forward about what I know, to the point of telling customers directly that Power Balance are a scam, and they still sell.

About Steven

24 year old chap living is a small, New Zealand town.

Posted on January 28, 2011, in Game development, Interesting, Life, Think. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

